7 Chakras of Body and Their Meanings - A Beginner's Guide

7 Chakras of Body and Their Meanings - A Beginner's Guide

Created on Updated on Author: 1 min read

A human body is believed to be a combination of two bodies - one is the physical body and the other is the energy body. For optimum health and harmony, both the bodies need to be disease free, free flowing and work in tandem to achieve a healthy, blissful state of living. Chakras are the energy centres of the energy body that run along the spine. Understanding these chakras and working towards their harmonious functioning has proven to be a key to unlocking good health, optimum life with a balanced physical and emotional well being.

What are chakras?

Chakras are the energy centres in the human body which run along the spine starting from the base. It is believed to be like a spinning wheel and determines the flow of energy in the body. There are a total of 7 chakras and each chakra is believed to be associated with specific organs, colours and energy meridians. Any blockage in one or more of these 7 chakras often manifests in the form of physical and emotional issues. Therefore, one must strive for free flowing chakras. There are several ways to unblock the blocked chakras which include yoga, meditation, breathing, reiki, acupressure and healing gemstones. 

Chakra means wheel and the concept of chakras that is energy wheels originated in ancient India and is associated to the yogic and Vedic science. With the advent of yoga, the concept of chakras is being studied in detail and is being understood better. Our body is believed to have a total of 114 chakras. However, the 7 chakras that run along our spine are the main 7 chakras.

Also Read: 7 Chakra Bracelet and its Benefits

Decoding the 7 Chakras

Starting from the base of our spine to the crown of our head, there are a total of 7 chakras. Let’s understand each of the chakras and the roles associated with them - 

Root Chakra or Muladhara 

Located at the base of the spine, the Root Chakra proves to be the energy centre that works as a foundation, enables us to feel grounded, stable and secure. 

Colour: Red 

Symptoms of blocked Root Chakra: Fatigue, anxiety, panic, insecurity, constipation, lower back pain, anger 

Ways to Heal Root Chakra: Grounding exercises like barefoot on gras, grounding yoga poses, going out for a walk or any other physical activity, eating red foods, wearing red colour and wearing healing gemstone jewellery associated to root chakra like Garnet, Bloodstone, Black Tourmaline, Smoky Quartz. 

Sacral Chakra or Svadishthana 

The second chakra is located just below the belly button, the Sacral Chakra is the energy centre is associated to pleasure, sexuality and creativity. 

Colour: Orange 

Symptoms of blocked Sacral Chakra: UTI, issues related to reproductive organs, lack of creativity, anaemia, detachment and loneliness

Ways to Heal Sacral Chakra: Journaling, indulge in creative activities, wear or eat things associated with orange colour, swimming or wear healing gemstones like Carnelian, Mmber or Tiger’s eye 

Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura 

Located in your stomach, this energy centre is linked to your confidence, self worth, identity and willpower. 

Colour: Yellow 

Symptoms of blocked Solar Plexus Chakra: Insecurity, low self esteem, lack of confidence, victim mentality, poor digestion, bloating, lack of responsibility

Ways to Heal Solar Plexus Chakra: Surya namaskars, walking in the sun, lighting a lamp or a candle, eat or wear things associated to colour yellow, breathing exercises or wear healing gemstones like Citrine, Lemon Quartz, Tiger’s Eye or Yellow Topaz 

Heart Chakra or Anahata

This energy centre is located near your heart in your chest and is associated with love and compassion. 

Colour: Green

Symptoms of Blocked Heart Chakra: Lack of sleep, fear, grief, weakened immunity, depression, blood pressure, heart or lung problems, respiratory issues

Ways to Heal Heart Chakra: Breath work, self love rituals, meditation, eat or wear green colour things or wear healing gemstones like Malachite, Emerald, Rose Quartz, Rhodonite, Green Jade, Rhodochrosite and Moss Agate. 

Throat Chakra or Vishuddha

This energy centre is located near your throat and is associated with communication. 

Colour: Blue 

Symptoms of Blocked Throat Chakra: Any problems related to voice, throat, mouth, teeth or gums indicates blockage in the energy centre. Tendency to gossip or difficulty in expressing too is linked to this chakra. 

Ways to Heal Throat Chakra: Slow down, express yourself, journaling and meditation, neck stretches, sing, wear anything in Blue and use healing crystals like Lapis Lazuli, Turquoise, Aquamarine and Kyanite.

Third Eye Chakra or Ajna 

This energy centre is located between your eyes on your forehead and is associated with intuition and imagination. 

Colour: Indigo 

Symptoms of Blocked Third Eye Chakra: Headaches, migraines, eye sight, lack of concentration, difficulty in hearing and bad memory.

Ways to Heal Third Eye Chakra: Meditation, deep breathing, yoga, spend time in the sun and eat purple coloured foods, drink lavender tea and wear healing crystals like Amethyst, Labradorite, Clear Quartz and Moonstone. 

Crown Chakra or Sahasrara

This energy centre is located on the head and is associated with all the other chakras and therefore, all the organs of the body in addition to the brain and nervous system. It is also our link to spirituality. 

Colour: White

Symptoms of Blocked Crown Chakra: Confusion, lack of focus, exhaustion, fatigue, insomnia, stubbornness.

Ways to Heal Crown Chakra: Wear light, soothing colours, listen to om sounds, nature walks, peaceful music and wear healing gemstones like Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Selenite and Howlite.

What happens when a chakra is blocked?

When a chakra is blocked, it eventually manifests in the form of physical illness or disease or emotional troubles. Therefore, it is imperative that one works towards keeping these energy centres balanced by working towards it for a optimum, healthy and fulfilling life. 

Zariin Chakra Jewellery - Balance

Balance by Zariin is a stylish, modern, wearable collection of necklaces, earrings, rings and bracelets which are designed with 7 healing gemstones associated to the 7 chakras. The intimate jewellery is designed to look and feel fabulous while you embrace the healing properties of the gemstones. The jewellery inspires you to work towards living your best life and investing in yourself.

Shop the Collection

Shop Zariin Popular Jewellery Categories: Earrings | Hair Jewellery | Rings | Pearl Jewellery | Jewellery Set | Men's Jewelry | Bracelets & Cuffs | Indian Ethnic Jewelry | Contemporary Jewellery | Chakra Jewellery | Birthstone Jewelry | Evil Eye Jewelry | Healing Jewellery

< Previous Next >
Back to blog